D.C. Entrepreneurship Week was created out of a desire to bolster the thriving business community in the Washington DC area; a region that boasts the 5th highest concentration of entrepreneurs in the country (Grasshopper Group, July 2010). Designed for entrepreneurs by entrepreneurs, the multi-faceted symposium aims to answer pressing ‘real-world’ questions in an intimate setting... Read More About DCEW »

Register today for:

individual event the entire week

Mark J. Johnson

Mark J. Johnson is a Principal in the U.S. buyout fund. He has over 15 years of experience in the financial services industry during which he has been involved in the investment of over $1.6bn of equity in leveraged buyout, growth equity and venture capital transactions. Much of his career has been spent in the communications and services sectors where he has been actively involved in transactions in radio and television broadcasting, newspaper and magazine publishing, wireless services and infrastructure, and government and business services. As a senior member of Carlyle’s telecommunications and media practice, Mr. Johnson is responsible for sourcing, executing and managing leveraged buyouts and growth equity investments in the communications and business services sectors globally.

Prior to joining Carlyle, Mr. Johnson was a member of the private equity team at the Blackstone Group where he executed equity investments in an array of industries including investments in the Columbia House Company, TRW Automotive and Freedom Communications. He has also worked at Level (3) Communications, J.H. Whitney & Co. and Merrill Lynch & Co. Mr. Johnson served as a member of the Obama ’08 Telecommunications, Media and Technology Policy Group and both the Technology, Innovation and Government Reform (TIGR) and CFTC Agency Review transition teams.

Mr. Johnson is a graduate of Princeton University and received his M.B.A. from the Harvard Business School. He has held seats on the boards of TRW Automotive Holdings, Insight Communications and the Investment Committee of the Governing Board of St. Albans School.